There should be some sort of alert for this

loaweekstatsjpg

Whoa! I had just opened up the LOA stats to show my parents the curious effect that the subway map had on our hits (as I remarked in a previous post), and found that it has exploded to become an order of magnitude greater than before. Whereas we used to get nearly 400 hits a week, we’ve been recently averaging more than 500 a day. This is all very curious, but it seems to really take off a few weeks after my post remarking on the initial effect. I took a look at our most popular search terms (still “New York Subway” and “New York Subway Map”, and still accounting for 99% of hits), I found that our picture of the subway system actually came up second on Google Image Search for both. I wish I’d done this just a few days earlier, because it seems possible that our recent slump could be caused by a bump from the first place spot. Damn that stonesoup.org!

Anyway, it looks like the attention doesn’t extend far beyond the post that started it all, though it’s impossible to tell if people are perusing the main site, or getting RSS feeds (and being sorely disappointed out our output). Still, I’m going to enjoy my little internet fame. In fact, I think I will use it to start a user-content driven web 2.0 crowdsourced social networking app.

And by that I mean, if you’re looking for a friend (social netwoking), leave a comment with your favorite movie (user generated content). If you see a pair of compatable looking movies (2.0 of them, to be precise), email me (crowdsourcing) and I won’t do anything (I’m still working on the app part).

Happy holidays!

5 Responses to There should be some sort of alert for this

  1. Kevin says:

    Dude I need a friend! My favourite movie is probably like, Lord of the Rings, or something. First post by the way.

  2. baryonic says:

    Lawrence of Arabia

  3. Ben says:

    The internet is weird.

  4. Ben says:

    Matt, I think this might be your biggest achievement of the year. When someone asks you what you did during your year off, you should reply, “I got the top image hit on Google for ‘NYC Subway Map'”
    It’d probably be easier than explaining what you are really do.

  5. mritter says:

    And more impressive!

Leave a comment